Skip to content

Crochet: A Bit of Creativity Can Cheer Anyone Up

January 15, 2013

Ghost Cone Scarf

It always make me feel good to accomplish things – even little crafting frivolities. This is the chunky scarf that I just completed. It went so fast and was a ton of fun. I found it on Pinterest,  which linked back to Ravelry. Ravelry is a great forum to view and post your own yarn creations. From there I could purchase and download a PDF of the magazine with the pattern. (I am loving all this technology!)  The particulars: Pattern is:  Ghost Cone Scarf, by Sue Perez, published in Interweave Crochet, Winter 2013. 

I enjoy crochet because many  projects don’t require careful attention once you have the pattern down. That makes it easy to watch a movie with the family and still feel productive.  It was finished in just a few evenings…. I think I might have spent more time looking for the perfect yarn and “just right” buttons than actually crocheting the scarf. But that is a different and very long story. 😦  

The hardest part of the pattern was getting  used to the fact that it is worked in columns rather than rows. The design looks like broomstick lace, but is really just a simple chain, stitched to make loops. The pattern recommends  fingering weight, which I could not find at the general craft store so I substituted sock weight (1). It uses a double stand of yarn throughout and called for six (1.75 ounce) balls. but I used four with only a few feet to spare. You could make it easily with five balls, but since it is worked with a double stand you would need to roll the last skein into two separate balls. 

 My daughter asked me to make a scarf for her. Any other orders?  🙂 It would be more fun to teach you to crochet so you would reap the benefits of creativity too.  I know  God is a creative God and the creativity I have is  part of being created in His image. You have it too.

 I am intrigued by the Tunisian crochet circulating now. I tried doing the Tunisian stitches (also called Afghan stitch) when I was a girl and couldn’t figure it out, but that was before U-Tube and video demonstrations were so available! Maybe my next project will use that technique, but it will have to wait until I sew the jacket I have cut out. Of course by then it will be time to plant the garden……

Are you working on any projects during this cold winter evenings?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2013 5:24 pm

    Soooo cute! I’ve found some of my patterns off the site and I agree about technology! My newest crochet project is going to be a yoga mat bag!

  2. February 25, 2013 2:29 pm

    I became a crochet fan after my toddler son found my knitting project and removed the needles. I was never able to pick up all those stitches. Alas, the afghan was never completed, but the good news is I’ve crocheted many items since!

Leave a Reply

