Skip to content

Puppy, Baby, Ice Fishing,and Productivity

January 8, 2013

These are some of the special things happening around our home since  Thanksgiving and through Christmas and New Year’s.

Ahh.... Isn't he cute?

Ahh…. Isn’t he cute?

We added a pet to the family. Bear bought a chocolate Labrador puppy. His name is Mudder. We have not had a dog for two years and we have missed it. Mudder is going through all his puppy phases, chewing, eating, and sleeping. So far he has not destroyed any expensive items. He is retrieving and shows great promise as a bird dog. We all love him.

We only had a cell phone camera available. :(

We only had a cell phone camera available. 😦

JP and his family were able to make a short visit for Christmas. Most of the family had not personally seen “W” so this was s special time for everyone to get acquainted. The aunts and uncles were eager to meet him – and that did not even come close to how excited his grandpa was. Eight of us showed up at the airport with signs in hand. One sign said “JP” another said “Erin” and the remaining ones all said “W”. We made quite a sight on the Saturday before Christmas day. It was worth a laugh.

The crew from the annual Christmas ice fishing trip.

The crew from the annual Christmas ice fishing trip.

I skipped both of the ice fishing trips so far. I was cooking and preparing big meals on both days. The first day the seven fishermen (and woman) caught 23 fish! All were good-sized and they came home with good memories despite the bitter cold temps. On New Year’s day they went again. This time they went all the way to Steamboat Lake. They caught some big ones – but not nearly as many. Personally, ice fishing is more fun when you are catching lots of fish even if they are only 10-13 inches.Nikki at Steamboat Lake

One of my New Year’s resolutions for 2013 is to be more productive. That means less time spent playing Words with Friends and Letterpress and less time spent on social media and Pinterest. Oh, well, I know in the end this will make me more productive. I might even have more time to write. The amount of time I was spending on these harmless little things was pushing everything else into crisis mode. My house wasn’t as clean as I liked it and it seemed I was always behind in laundry, bookkeeping, or school work. This made me unhappy and caused a lot of stress. So I have decided to manage my “free time” with a heavier hand. Hopefully I will be able to get back into my creative groove instead of just “pinning”  [Pinterest] what everyone else is doing.

This year I am working on memorizing Ephesians too. I have 7 verses down and only 148 to go.

I am wishing you all a great new year. Make time for the most important things everyday and you can’t go wrong. God bless you in 2013.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2013 4:06 am

    Love Mudder, so cute. One of the four focuses I picked this year was productivity too! I’m doing focus Friday’s on the blog. Nice catching up on Candy’s world.

Leave a Reply

