Skip to content

Handcrafted Christmas

December 27, 2012

Merry Christmas (after the fact) and Happy New Year!

We enjoyed a wonderful Christmas with all ten children – and our grandchild! – at our home this year. There are no guarantees that we will all be together next year (or any year) so I treasure these times.

I used several Christmas ideas from my Pinterest boards. And now that it won’t ruin any surprises, I wanted to share with you the best and worst of my Pinterest projects.

from Pinterest - Placecard

from Pinterest – Placecard

My biggest disappointment was the candy cane place holders. I wanted to use these for place cards at Christmas dinner. The link  didn’t include instructions, just a cute picture, but a previous pinner noted: “just glue mini canes together.” I am sure there is a way to make these, but gluing them was a failure. I waited hours for the glue to dry and set up……. I kept rubber bands around them…….. I tried to make them stand……. and when they fell, the canes broke.  I didn’t even take a picture of this failure.

from Pinterest

from Pinterest

I didn't realize this was so blurry - sorry

I didn’t realize this was so blurry – sorry

Another pin was a decorating idea for the banister. This would have worked very nicely if I was hosting a big event and wanted an exceptional look for just one day.

I made my spray with fresh greenery. I was trying to decide if I would put some white paint on the pinecones I gathered or if I would use some mini Christmas bulbs along with the greenery. I am glad I wasn’t ready to put it all together, because when I was going to finish the project about 30 hours later, the fresh greenery was dried out and brittle.  I tried soaking my branches and that helped. but it would never last a month when used inside a home.  But it did inspire me to do something different with our banister this year. I had to use what items I had left over, but I liked it. 🙂

Big plans for next year...

Big plans for next year…

This idea is only disappointing because I didn’t get around to making the slippers. I purchased the wool and this is exactly how far I got.  If you are family, please be surprised next year when I get them done.

from Pinterest

from Pinterest

 

Love this!

Love this!

This was a simple and great idea. I didn’t do it in my kitchen, but in the dining room on the china hutch. I love it!

from Pinterest

from Pinterest

Another fine stocking stuffer was the lotion bar that I made for each girl. I got the “recipe” from nurseryofthenation.blogspot.com and scented them with jasmine. I have been using them on my old, dry, cracked feet for the last two weeks and now my feet are just old.  🙂 They really do work.

from PInterest

from PInterest

My favorite pin this year was the rice bag/hand-warmers. I chose to use sweatshirt material, but you could also use fleece or a flannel. (If you use flannel, you will probably need to finish the edges.) I started out with roughly a 4-inch square and cut my shape from it. I used hearts for the girls and house shapes for the guys.  Using a decorative stitch I stitched around the shape leaving about an inch so I could fit my funnel into the hole. Then I filled them with 3-4 tablespoons of rice and closed up the hole.

hand-warmers

My stocking stuffer hand-warmers!

 Warm for 30 seconds in a microwave and you have re-useable hand warmers. We have already tried them out when shoveling snow and they would be perfect for taking the dog for a walk. I am wondering if placing  them in a soup thermos for a trip to the mountains for skiing or ice-fishing  would keep them warm. Maybe placing them over the defrost vent in the car for the last 30 minutes of the ride could  heat them up too. I will have to update this post after I figure it out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 27, 2012 6:47 pm

    Omg i love the ideas.. lotion bars and handwarmers sound really fun and easy!

Leave a Reply

