Skip to content

Wrestling, Fires, Transmissions, Surgery, and Rain

July 8, 2012

The title about sums up the last two weeks.  It has been a busy time here in Colorado – busy with the unexpected as well as the routine.

Carl getting ready for his bout….

The last week of June I went to Orem, Utah, the Kids Nationals Wrestling Tournament (Greco and Freestyle). My husband is an official and needed to referee at a national level and while we were there, our youngest wrestler, Carl, competed. Only the best of the kids are there and he placed 7th in his age division and weight for Greco-Roman wrestling. That isn’t too bad considering that he hasn’t had any practice for three weeks.

While we were there, fire broke out in Colorado Springs (about 45 minutes south of our home.) We had friends evacuated but their home was not one of the roughly 350 that were lost to the fire. It seems that most of the West is on fire or in danger of it right now. In fact, Camp Grace, a camp our church supports and one that Jake worked at last year was lost to the Arapahoe fire in Wyoming on  the 30th.  And another fire (Oil Creek Fire) in the northwestern part of Wyoming had the town where we lived when we first married evacuated for a day.

When we left Orem, we traveled along the smoke-filled highways of Utah, with the heat and an obvious problem with our car’s transmission. Praise the Lord, we made it all the way home, then down to the transmission shop the following day, and to a car dealer on the next day. So now we have a “new” car. My husband knew that there was a problem months ago so we were not caught totally off guard, but that wasn’t the way I had it planned. My plan was to ignore the problem until it goes away.  It used to work with annoying siblings.

The biggest news is that I had a major surgery last Monday.  My family has been blessed with good health far more than most families. This was a new experience for all of us.  I was totally unprepared for the enormity of a major surgery as I packed all kinds of craft projects and books to read while I was in the hospital. I can’t explain why I thought I would need something to keep me busy for the hours I was at the hospital, but I did. That is good for a laugh-at-yourself moment. 🙂

I have a new appreciation for my friends who deal with chronic pain and physical problems. I was subject to discouragement and all the while I knew that I would get better, after all, I just had major surgery X days ago. My heart goes out to people who have a stroke and have to learn everything over again. I won’t say that I was callous to their frustration, but now I have just a wee taste of it myself.

Lat night, God sent rain to the parched land of Colorado – a whole inch here in the metro area. It was wonderful and I won’t complain one little bit about our humidity today. In actuality, Colorado never compares in humidity to most other states, but those who have lived here a few years are sensitive to it after having been without it for a while.

We will see what next week brings……. more healing or frustration, more rain or maybe more fire, car problems or not. But whatever comes my way, I am certain that my God is sovereign over all and has allowed it in my life  for His purpose.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    July 9, 2012 9:53 pm

    It’s good to have you back blogging again, Candy. I missed you! I enjoy your conclusion about trusting in the sovereignty of our great and kind God. Because He is sovereign, we can rest.

Leave a Reply

