Skip to content

Christianity as a “Crutch”

June 22, 2012

“Christianity is just a “crutch.”  Have you heard this before? It is a statement meant to imply that some people just need something to believe in, a place to put your hope that everything will turn out fine in the end.

The second question I have is: Do you believe this statement to be true?

The more I thought about this statement (after recently hearing it again) the more it begged me to think about it…… to decipher it, to come to a bold conclusion about its validity. I have decided that I do agree with it, and yet it doesn’t even go far enough. I wouldn’t say that I am in agreement with the message of the speaker, but the statement itself. Let me explain:

A crutch is something a weak person leans upon. I am weak. I find strength and access to Heaven itself through Christianity. Therefore, Christianity is my crutch.

But where it misses the point is that crippled people don’t need a crutch; they need a physician. They need someone to heal them. Jesus Christ healed my largest problem. It wasn’t a physical problem; it was a sin problem. I, along with all creation, groaned under its weight. I was unable to get rid of my problem. There was no amount of good works that would ever make me holy. Christ, the Son of God, paid the death penalty for me. And because He was righteous, death had no hold on Him and He arose and lives forever! Praise God!

Christianity is more than a religion to me, it is a relationship with Him. He changed my life and He made me new. He healed me!

And now when I hear such a statement, it reminds me of three things: 1. That I am weak and crippled. 2. That I needed a physician, someone to heal me. 3. That when I am weak, then I am strong.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    June 23, 2012 12:06 pm

    I agree! I love to rest in the Everlasting Arms! God is sovereign; therefore I can rest.

Leave a Reply

