Skip to content

Going Back Home

June 1, 2012

I have been AWOL from the blog for the last week. That is what happens when I face the sad reality that laundry and house keeping have to be moved up the priority ladder. The good news is that I did catch up on them; the bad news is that I might have pushed our last “official”day of school into next week

I have been away from home for the last four weekends. It is not something to complain about though, since I saw Erin get her college diploma, saw my three youngest boys wrestle at the state tournament, went camping in the wind with the family and caught roughly a million fish. (Side note: Bear was the only one to get marshmallow in her hair when we made s’mores. 🙂 ) Oh! and we saw two bears!

This weekend we are in Dodge City, Kansas, for the Southern Plains Regional Wrestling Tournament. David, Jake, and Carl will wrestle and Paul is an official.The season is winding down and this it the last time I will see David and Jake wrestle this season.

Last night we stayed in Garden City. Twenty years ago we moved away from there. Have you ever went back to places you lived before? Isn’t it strange how some things a dramatically different in your memory and yet they are so much the same?

Although the boys that are with us today were born in our post-Kansas days, we still did a little tour of the town to show them the hospital where Gary was born and both of the houses we lived in. I didn’t remember the first house being so small and I thought the yard was bigger at the second one. I am sure they moved the whole city zoo was moved because its location has changed. 🙂 (I hate to be wrong,so let me just think this.)

We went by the country church we used belong to. The “new” fellowship hall is huge! The parking lot was full on a Friday morning. Was there a funeral? Was it someone we once knew? I don’t kniw how to distill these feelings into words.

Do you think that you can ever really go back to those kind of places again and feel the same way? Maybe I was looking for a sense of belonging or a familiarity and all that was left was a lingering aromma of what used to be…….

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    June 1, 2012 9:06 pm

    I’ve had the same experience Candy. Lately I’ve been writing my memories for a book our oldest daughter gave me to fill in. It is sweet nostalgia – seems more real than when I go back to Grand Rapids and actually see those same/different places.

Leave a Reply

