Skip to content

Garden in May

May 21, 2012

Tomato plants just planted – They look a little sad right now.

After hardening off the tomato plants last week, I planted them Friday morning. I also realized that my soaker hose has several large leaks so I won’t be able to use it this year. Last year, I repaired and coaxed it to live through the season, but it is too far gone to make it another year. Rest in peace, Soaker Hose. 😦

I also noted that my large bunch of bamboo stakes were indeed used as swords and now I must purchase more.

Why is a long stick so irresistible to a boy? On the other hand, my forsythia looks better this year since it was not subject to boyish pruning for the sake of sword manufacture. It is all good, because on any day I would choose a house full of boys rather than bamboo stakes or flowering shrubs. Okay, well most days I would choose that. 🙂

not too bad for an experiment!

Here is the result of my coldframe turned greenhouse. It is sitting in a corner ready to be used in the fall – or possible in the event of a hail storm for protection.

I never found the time to poke seed in the bare patches, but I will now. There are actually blooms on a few of the plants and hopefully some bees will be around to pollinate them even though it is early.

We are enjoying radishes, spinach, lettuce, and green onions from the garden and have been for several weeks. It is time to thin the carrots and plant the summer vegetables. It is on my list for this week. 

It is always good to keep records. If I don’t obsess about  perfect records, I am more likely to jot down a few notes that will help me make decisions in upcoming season.  I use a plain and simple composition book. I label the pages with the year and log information about the varieties of vegetables I plant, when they were planted or transplanted, and if the yield was greater or less than expected.

If I am really on the ball, it might note the last and first frost of the growing season. It isn’t fancy, but it has information that I don’t want to forget,  like why I should not plant  Black Krim tomato: “Soft and mushy, do not try again!”

Another item that I rely on is my Sunset Western Garden Book. This one is from 2001 and I use the plant encyclopedia often. It is handy to own a reference book, especially when planning perennial garden beds.

Wish you could enjoy the heady perfume of these blooms.

These are some of my tea roses. I chose heirloom roses for the aroma. I love a rose that smells like a rose!

What is your favorite thing to grow?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    May 22, 2012 7:20 am

    Candy, You are so far ahead of us down there on the flats! I like your idea of a log book,and will suggest it to Dale.
    Love the roses! Heirlooms are a good idea! Some roses actually stink!
    God does the best job.

    • May 22, 2012 9:27 pm

      I will count your comment as one of the greatest compliments of my life. I aspire to be a gardener even a wee bit like Dale. The only reason I am ahead of him is probably due to our climate differences. Thanks for the great examples you both are in many areas of my life. God bless you, Rosie!

Leave a Reply

