Skip to content

Grow Your Own Alfalfa Sprouts

March 24, 2012
tags:

Do you know how easy it is for you to grow your own alfalfa sprouts? Super easy! I had heard it was easy, but I never imagined HOW easy until I tried it myself  last week.

I like alfalfa sprouts instead of lettuce on sandwiches and added to salads.

To grow your own you need only a few items: a clean glass canning jar with ring closure, alfalfa seeds, water, nylon or cheesecloth,  and about 5-6 days.

Start by placing one tablespoon of seeds in a quart jar. Place a square of nylon or cheesecloth over the opening and using the ring closure to keep the nylon in place. (You could any glass jar and use a rubber band to keep the material in place.) Then soak the seeds in tap water for about 8 hours.

Drain the water and take advantage of the seeds sticking to the sides of the jar. You want to have them spread them out as much as possible since the seeds need air. By laying the jar on its side you will have more surface area for your seeds to spread out.

You will need to rinse and drain the seed twice a day. Just add the water through the nylon material and drain it out the same way. Since Colorado tends to have a dessert like humidity, I rinsed my seeds three times a day.  Seeds like to grow at a temperature of 70-80 *F.

In just one day you will notice the spouts beginning to emerge from the seeds.

You will notice the darker seed coverings (testa) in the bottom of your jar as you rinse after the 3rd or 4th day. Leave them there.

You will continue to rinse a few times a day for five to six days. The sprouts should be about 2 inches long when they are ready. Give them a final rinse in a large bowl of water. Most of the testa will fall to the bottom.  Scoop out the spouts and place on a paper towel in a sunny location for a few hours. This will make them turn a bit green and more nutritional value.

Place them loosely in a container and use them up! After all they only take a few days to grow. Besides, they are better fresh. There will probably be a few of the seed coverings in your sprouts but it is not necessary to remove them.

Alfalfa spouts are low-calorie, and a good source of protein, Vitamin A, Niacin, and Calcium. They are a very good source of fiber.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 4:41 pm

    Love it, we do sprouts all the time; Broccoli and Clover are my go to ones. I liked radish too in a mix but I don’t have those seeds yet. I started with a jar but had trouble with it, think it’s more humid in MI. I have a rectangle one with a divider so I can do two kinds at once. They keep in the fridge for 3-4 weeks so I prefer to do bigger batches at a time anyone. Have fun with your new sprouting adventure!

  2. Gwen permalink
    March 25, 2012 3:21 pm

    I think I am going to try it! I love how they taste on a sandwhich!

  3. Rosie P:otter permalink
    March 28, 2012 10:57 pm

    Do you have to send for Gurney’s for the seeds?
    I hope there is something closer we can just go in and buy.

    • March 29, 2012 5:24 am

      I did get mine from Gurney’s because I had a 50% off coupon. I think you could get them at a garden shop or even a feed store though.

Leave a Reply

