Skip to content

Home Organization: It Is about the Little Habits

January 22, 2012

I wanted to blog about home organization, about January’s “out with the old and in with the new,” about purging of all my closets and such – but it never happened.

This past week’s “normal” schedule meant I was  away from my home for 3-7 hours each day. Not that many hours in one chunk, but the momentum killing kind of being away for 40 minutes, then home for an hour, then gone for 90 minutes, and home for just 30 minutes, before you have to leave for 90 minutes, and then…….. you get the picture.

I was downright discouraged. I thought, “If only I were more organized: my house would not look like a war zone, my wonderful husband would have many pairs of clean socks to choose from (instead of the only pair I could find), Grace would not be cooking meals for the family, and I would have time to develop witty, wisdom-filled blog posts.”

But just maybe  it was that little habit of planning meals for two or three weeks at a time and doing the shopping in one outing that kept the pantry stocked for those meals that were served.

And just maybe the hours that I spent with Grace (and the brothers and sisters who preceded her) in the kitchen prepared her for this weeks when getting dinner ready would fall in her capable hands! By the way, did you know that if you leave the flour out of cornbread, it still turns out lovely and delicious. 🙂

Or that little habit of washing a load of laundry every morning and at noon provided the heap of clean clothes where those socks were hiding out.

And we could not have made it unless I had already set into place a chore system for the children which kept the most necessary of chores getting done. 

We survived! Everyone went to school, work, church, practices, and performances. We enjoyed three meals a day and dressed in clean clothes.

This organization post isn’t what I wanted it to be. After all, I wanted to tell you about my secrets of organization, but God values humility more than organization. He has a way of reminding me that I am weak and needy. Anything I accomplish (or even survive 🙂 ) is because of His strength made perfect in my weakness.

The next time your week is more of a nightmare than a dream. Maybe you are looking at the wrong thing. My secret organization tool:  His strength + my weakness.

What are the little things you do that help you survive?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    January 22, 2012 5:59 pm

    Grace, you are quite a little helper it sounds like 🙂 I am proud of you! Good post, Mom.

    -Nikki

  2. Rosie P:otter permalink
    January 23, 2012 7:48 am

    I love the part about humility. Now that I have reached the age of a finely developed capability to forget things, humility comes in daily little packages, tied up with a smile that
    says, “I’ll just do my best Lord, and depend on you to help me not to hurt anyone.”

    One little thing I do to help me “survive” as far as organization in the house is concerned,
    is that I have some handy tools: :Post-it notes on my bathroom mirror, a battery- powered carpet sweeper for quick pick-up, a Swiffer long-handled spider-web-getter.

    When I put up a fresh hand towel in the bathroom, I use the old one to wipe down the mirror, and sink with the fixtures. . .

Leave a Reply

