Skip to content

Seed Catalogs and Thinking of Spring

January 9, 2012
tags:

The blooming geraniums remind me of springtime and I am sure it is just around the corner, or maybe the corner after the next one.

Since I do not excel at keeping houseplants happy – or even alive, for that matter, I love my geraniums. They reward my lack of attention with continual blooms. You can’t find a deal like that anywhere! 

My mom used to joke that if she felt her living room was turning into a jungle she would just send  a few plants to my bedroom. They would die and her tender heart would not be troubled over it.

Anyway, back to geraniums…… they only thing they require is a sunny location. I have a south-facing window that is perfect for them. They will survive if I water them too much or even too little.  

As big, fluffy snowflakes floated to the ground on Saturday, I was looking through seed catalogs. I have received a million in the mail lately. That is the first indication that spring is on the way – even if it is snowing outside. As you look through those catalogs, what inspires you?

I have started to redesign the beds and borders in my lawn using xeriscape plants.  I have also tried to attract humming birds and butterflies to my yard. I haven’t stuck with a single color theme throughout the yard, but rather in each bed I stick to a scheme.

The preplanned gardens sold as a kit, give me lots of ideas. I would never buy one since the plants rarely would all thrive together. But I freely use the color, shape,and heights ideas as a jummping off place for my own imagination.

My Sunset Garden Book is never far away when I am stalking the nursery catalogs. This resource is especially helpful if you live in the west. I will find a xeric plant that meets the height and color suggestions and then find out just how much space that plant needs.

A piece of graph paper with my garden plot drawn to scale serves as my planning grid.  A simple circle to match the space requirements goes on the paper along with note about the plant and usually the page number from my reference book.

Then it is time to mull my design over and ask friends about their experiences with plants of that variety.

Anyway, I am dreaming and planning about a new garden bed between my driveway and front porch.  I will use some of the same elements from the large bed in the front yard and I will get rid find a new home for the shrub roses that rip my shopping bags and snag my clothes. 🙂

Are you dreaming of spring?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikki permalink
    January 12, 2012 1:54 pm

    Ha! Love your edit. NEVER get rid of the roses, please. 🙂

  2. February 16, 2012 5:40 am

    I love seeing xeriscaped yards. They are so beautiful to me. It sounds like you have a gorgeous yard. I hope you get lots of hummingbirds and butterflies descending into your oasis this year.

  3. February 17, 2012 12:16 pm

    I adore geraniums. And to enjoy them where we live they have to be grown this time of year. The heat will kill them in the summer.

Leave a Reply

