Skip to content

Painting My Stairs

January 2, 2012

It is the last day of Christmas vacation and I decided to start a project that will take me a more than a day to finish! This is why my house is crazy!

Before

Since the stairway gets SO much traffic – think family with 8 children and a dog – the carpet here is worn out. I decided to rip the worn carpet off the stairs and paint them. I knew it would be a big and dirty job, but I really thought I would be farther along than I am.

I also thought that I would have time to prepare lesson plans for our homeshcool and work on a sewing project while getting all the laundry done and doing some needed bookkeeping before starting my tax return.  So, I dream BIG.

I had the house to myself without interruptions and it just took so much longer than I thought it would. But is it going to be great! I just know it!

After I hatched this idea, I checked in a little spot to determine what was actually under the carpet. Since our house was built in the 70’s, rather than finding beautiful oak planks under the carpet, I found high density particle board. At least it is high density with  bull-nosed edges. 🙂

There are still numerous staples and a few nails to be pulled from the treads, but I think that I have two children who would like to earn some spending money. I would keep working myself, but I have a giant blister in the palm of my right hand, from prying at the carpet, the pad, tack strip, and staples.

Ready for my little workers to remove the staples

The next step will be sanding the railings, spindles, and newel post, then primer for all the surfaces. I have decided to make the treads and railing/newel post a dark chocolate and the spindles and risers a creamy satin.

I hope that I can find floor and deck paint that can be tinted.

So far, I am only over budget on the time I have spent to remove the carpet. I’ll keep you posted on how the project progresses…… and yes, I do have some special company coming.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

