Skip to content

New Year and New Resolutions

December 31, 2011
tags:

I have looked over last year’s list of resolutions and compared it with my resolutions for 2012. I actually laughed out loud to realize that I still want to tidy up the house everyday before going to bed. 🙂  My resolution for 2012 is a bit more specific: Spend 10 minutes before going to bed putting my house in order.

Tips for goal setting……

   Set reasonable goals. If you are not motivated to floss your teeth every night, don’t put it on the list. Save the list space for something you want to do, like floss everyday for the week prior to your dental appointment.  (Or resolve to eat popcorn every night, since you will, by necessity, have to floss.)

   Remember, success breeds success. For this reason, I have decided to set a goal of kicking my smoking habit. Since that habit is at ZERO cigarettes a year, this should be an easy one to achieve, and will propel me to reach every goal on my list. 🙂

Break big goals down into smaller ones. I would like to lose weight this year so I am deciding that if I lose just 5 pounds each month, I will have lost 60 pound by the end of 2012! I can do that!

Set challenging goals. I am going to follow Professor Horner’s Bible Reading System. This plan is just about taking in large amounts of scripture. It involves reading 10 chapters a day from 10 different books of the Bible. I even joined a Facebook group of others doing the same thing – 3650 Challenge.

Set meaningful goals. I want to plan a special family night each month. I usually let Paul decide how to spend our valuable time off, but I think he would appreciate it if I planned something occasionally. A special little something for the family tucked in between the wrestling practices.

   Set a goal that you will never reach, just to keep you humble. I want to give up my coffee habit. While I still want to have a special cup occasionally with friends, I want change my morning habit to tea.  You see, I don’t really like the taste of coffee. I must put milk and lots of sugar in to mask its taste. Since all that sugar isn’t good for me, I switched to synthetic poisons which are not good for me either. 🙂 We will see how tomorrow goes.

There isn’t anything magical about January 1 that will make your resolutions any easier to keep than August 1st, next Monday, tomorrow, or even TODAY.

If you really want to make changes, you will just have to do it.

If you miss a milestone, just keep going. If you only lost 2 pounds a month, that is still 24 pound next year.

If you only read one chapter of the Bible a day that is still more than none.

And if I clean up 10 minutes every night, then m y house will be a bit cleaner in the next morning.

What are your resolutions for the new year?

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elise Parish permalink
    January 2, 2012 6:43 pm

    I really like your ideas! They’re all really good. I’ve never been one to really do resolutions, because I always fail before January’s over. So this year I wasn’t going to do them, but a couple of days ago I got an idea. It’s basically the same as your weight loss goal, actually. I set a few large goals, and then at the beginning of every month, I’m going to set smaller goals for that month that help me reach the bigger goals. And then depending on various stuff, some of those may be split up smaller and be set more specifically for each week of that month. I’m excited, because it’s a whole lot less discouraging to mess up for the month than to mess up for the entire year and feel like you have to give up because you’re off-track!

    • January 2, 2012 7:44 pm

      Hey there, Elise! So glad to hear you are encouraged by the post. We will just have to encourage each other. Are you all recovered from surgery?
      I’ll be praying for you.

      • Elise Parish permalink
        January 6, 2012 9:34 am

        I’m just about completely recovered! It took a long time, but I’m finally at the point where the sore throats are minimal, and I’m not quite as worn out all the time. Thank you so much for praying, it means a ton. 🙂

  2. January 6, 2012 8:41 am

    Best wishes for everyone’s weight loss goals in the new year!

Leave a Reply

