Skip to content

On to the New Year! An Overview of Our Christmas

December 27, 2011

Well, the splendor of Christmas is fading away, the Advent calendar hangs naked on the wall,  and I feel like Scrooge as I slip the last shepherd in the nativity storage box. My joy in the Christ Child will continue throughout the year; the trappings will be stored away but the evidence of His presence will remain.

We all sang carols together on Christmas eve. Gary and David accompanying the singers with guitars. Christmas morning we enjoyed the tradition of  homemade cinnamon rolls (thanks Nikki!) for  breakfast – a breakfast where there was a wide display of new clothing, even some designed for outer wear, and some for sleepware. (I think Carl wore his new robe over his clothes most of the day.)

I prepared our standard Beef Rib Roast.  The meat was overcooked, but the recipients were gracious. I think that the dessert made up for the infraction. My one question is: “Why would anyone settle for pumpkin pie, when they can have pumpkin cheesecake?”

We even took some family pictures! Thank you Erin, for not letting the day pass without doing that. Thank you all the participants – willing and unwilling . These photos are precious to me. 🙂

Yesterday, in the wee hours of the morning, I had to take JP and Erin to the airport. Nikki will be here another week,  so we are slowly breaking back into the “normal routine” (not that there is anything the resembles normal or routine around here. 🙂 )

Our intake of sweets has decreased our immunity and several of the children have colds.

I didn’t play as many games as I wanted to and I didn’t win any I played, so we might have to fit more of that in before Christmas break is over.

Paul and the boys took the annual  ice fishing trip – actually twice.  With the wrestling tournaments using so many winter Saturdays, we have to capitalize on openings in the schedule. We smoked 16 nice trout and they are tenderly stored away for delicious trout dip and other delicacies.

All in all, we had a wonderful (and white) Christmas! So thankful for all the gifts and the love of family. Thankful for my humble Savior who willingly came to Earth to redeem sinful man. I am blessed!

 Are you putting away the Christmas decorations yet? Are you getting ready for the New Year? I am so excited!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl permalink
    December 27, 2011 1:10 pm

    Thank you SO much for sharing that one night with our family! We had an amazing time with your family! BEAUTIFUL pictures of your family! Hoping that you make copies of the big family picture, and share one copy with us. 😀 Love you to pieces, my friend! ❤ p.s. There was no youtube video on your blog today. 😀

    • December 27, 2011 1:59 pm

      We always enjoy seeing you and your family! It was so much fun. I didn’t even realize how late it was when we said goodbye. Love you my friend! Let’s not wait so long in-between visits. 🙂

Leave a Reply

