Skip to content

The Power of a Memory

December 19, 2011
tags:

Ahhhh…. the smell of mothballs. I do not like the smell, but I love the memory it evokes in me  –  my Grandma  B’s attic. That door was off-limits to grandchildren except for very special times. The irony is that in all probability, we were not allowed to go upstairs because she didn’t want us to get into the mothballs.

That damp, musty coolness can instantly remind me of  Grandma G’s cellar with its single bare light bulb and the shadows of every ghoulish winter squash cast in gigantic form on the earthen walls.

A dust cloud rising from the gravel road,  then sound of dad’s measured steps on the porch, before he enters the house – these are the start buttons to our personal time machines of memory.

The power of a memory is unmistakable. It can transport you across the miles and years. Precious memories or not – they are there, tucked away in the recess of your mind until a spark kindles the flame of a remembrance.

What do you want people to remember about you when you have left this earthly abode?  A more  important question is “What do others they think of me today?”  because memories are made in the here and now. What happens or doesn’t happen  today is the basis of what we remember tomorrow.

Are those closest to you blessed by your presence? Do they think of you as kind or harsh, joyous or angry? Believe me, I understand that there is a time for a mom  to be firm and to teach hard lessons; life can’t all be fun and games. 

But take a step back, and look at yourself. Are you letting pressure and stress get to you? Are you able to laugh at yourself? Do you like what you see?

Remember that His grace is sufficient for you in every situation. Our emotional responses may give us a vent, but rarely do they change circumstances. (I am preaching to myself here! A lesson I am learning in my head and still failing to make a habit in my life.)

What memories are you etching today?

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift of God, which is why we call it the present.”
Bil Keane

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

