Skip to content

Thrifty Tip: Roast for Dinner and Soup from Leftovers

December 9, 2011

You have probably all heard ideas about meals with planned leftovers. This is the kind of planning where you cook extra chicken breasts and then use the leftovers the next day for a chicken salad. But what about un-planned leftovers?

We have roast nearly every Sunday during the cooler months. It is easy to pop one in the oven before church with some onions, celery, carrots, potatoes, and a bay leaf or two. In fact, most of the time, I put it in the oven frozen solid (which means that I skip the browning step altogether.) I set the oven to 300* for about 4 hours and when we return dinner is ready to put on the table. Works like magic, unless you forget to turn on the oven.  Oops – it happens every once in a while. 🙂

During our regular meal times, I often have a spoonful of vegetables. Not enough to save, but I hate to throw them out. Now I just add them to a Ziploc bag I keep in the freezer. I also add any roast  and potatoes that are leftover after I have cubed them into soup size bites. I have a plastic bowl in the freezer to freeze leftover broth too.

When I need a quick supper, I have everything I need. You can throw in some herbs, onions, cabbage, or pasta, and maybe some crushed tomatoes with your frozen leftovers. Bring the whole thing to a simmer. Make some biscuits or savory muffins to go along with it and enjoy.

What do you like to do with your leftover vegetables?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 5:46 pm

    good idea im gonna try it

Leave a Reply

