Skip to content

Easy Christmas Decorating Ideas

November 28, 2011
tags:

We are knee-deep in Christmas decorating, but I wanted to pause and give you just a sneak peek. 

Since I have six children living at home this semester, we still use the large dining room table every day. It also doubles as a school desk for two of the kids. By necessity, this display must be charming and easy to work with not around. I don’t want to re-decorate the table after every meal or school day.

I made a “flat display” on the table with felt cut-outs of a Christmas tree. I used embroidery floss to embellish as a garland and a bit of bling on the “tree ornaments.” There is no sewing since the floss sticks to the felt.

 These can be a simple or extravagant as you like. Mine is on the simple side, but I am a less-is-more type. (This might even be a little to simple for even me, though.)

with the plastic covering

Next, I covered the table with a clear plastic film. You can find this at any fabric store (even Wal-Mart). Get a weight of 5mm and you will be able to wipe it clean like a vinyl tablecloth.

To be honest, I love using the plastic film over a tablecloth. The room has a fancy look but I am not washing tablecloths everyday.

You will still be able to add flowers and candles for special meals, but this idea will bring a Christmas flair to a table you use often. Another idea is layering of lace over a  solid color tablecloth.

"piano-scape"

This is our Christmas “piano-scape.” I have a red and white theme with gold accents going.  I used canning jars as containers to bind the display together.  I was going to add a few pint jars filled with the soft peppermint sticks, but I couldn’t fine them anywhere… so Hershey Kisses wrapped in gold and red foil will have to do.  And for height I purchased some poinsettia plants.  I wanted  to fill the half-gallon canning jars with red and white roses,  but the thought and cost of keeping them looking great was too much. 

The pint wide-mouthed jars are filled with brass and red jingle bells in the bottom third and a votive candle sitting on top of that.  The other jars are filled with peppermint starbright candy or ornaments.

from Pinterest - junkgardengirl

This is an idea I got from Pinterest. (It originally came from junkgardengirl.blogspot.com.) I am going to paint my stairs – hopefully (but not likely) before Christmas – so this is just in the planning stage. I have less length in my stairway and I think I will replace some of the ornaments with  large stars.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    November 28, 2011 12:33 pm

    Very cute, mom!! I love roses. 🙂

  2. November 30, 2011 5:07 pm

    So creative…I think I lack that bone! Thanks so much for linking up with me.

  3. December 4, 2011 4:11 pm

    I’ve posted the new HS writing prompts. Click here to view them-http://hammockhomeschool.blogspot.com/p/savannahs-home-school-writing-prompts.html

Leave a Reply

