Skip to content

Giving Thanks

November 25, 2011

The course of appetizers was enjoyed. The main meal was heartily eaten (probably because I decided NOT to over-cook the turkey this year.) We have washed the china and put it away. And turkey bones are simmering away for soup next week.

We have watched a football game and the kids played catch in the street. The first Risk game was down to Jake and David when they decided it would take forever to finish with just the two of them. Right now several of the family are working on another tradition – a nap!

When they awake, we will have pie and coffee and then a game or a movie together.

And I am thankful! Very thankful! for all the bounty we have here. We spend so much time comparing ourselves with those that have more, that we fail to keep in perspective that most of America has more – food, possessions, and opportunity – than most of the world.

This is what is left of my fall decorations. When the leaves were no longer beautiful, I clipped them off. This month I have been adding a leaf each day. Each leaf notes something I am thankful for. The children have added a few and so have guests.

Most of the leaves hold names of people or answered prayers, but one leaf says “trials.” With any circumstance in life, there are at least two ways to look at it. You may have to be creative to find the silver lining in that rain cloud, but don’t give up. It is the valleys in life make the heights that much sweeter. Choose to be thankful.

Yes, I miss the children that are not here today. I miss my mom ( and I miss you too, Dad.) But I can be thankful for family friends who have welcomed my children into their family this weekend. I am overjoyed that Mom is eternally cured of her cancer. I am thankful that my life here is a pilgrim’s life, because I have a future home that is out of this world! Heaven!

In every thing give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus  concerning you.

I Thessalonians 5:18

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    November 25, 2011 11:01 pm

    Sweet, Candy.

  2. November 27, 2011 9:28 pm

    Hi, Candy, thanks for stopping by, so nice to meet you. You are a beautiful writer, enjoyed this post. Keep on blogging & enjoy the journey.

    • November 28, 2011 12:04 pm

      Thank you, Rhoda, for taking the time to check out my blog. That is an encouragement.

Leave a Reply

