Skip to content

A Hero

November 1, 2011

What is a hero? I am sure we all have our own list of items that make a hero a hero. You may have noticed that there are always people who want to be the hero, but they just don’t possess that quality of selflessness. That self-sacrificing quality moves a would-be hero out of the “courageous” category and into the “HERO” one.

What is your definition of hero? To me, a hero is a person who gives without reserve to the benefit of another without thought of gain or even repayment. (I didn’t even look it up in a dictionary.)

Mr. and Mrs. Bill (and LaVelle) Gornick

One of the many heroes in my life was my grandmother, Gladys LaVelle Moore Gornick. She was an example to me in every facet of her life: As a wife, mother, homemaker, hard worker, and friend. Her biggest impact on my life although, was a spiritual one.

Her disposition was one of eternal sunshine that no circumstance could darken. I am certain it had much to do with her own faith. I never heard her say an unkind word about another person, and I do believe that there was not a person who would be unwelcome in her home, yet she was fiercely protective.

I saw her work hard and still have time to play a game with me. People were always more important that things.

She prayed for me every day. When she thought I might be heading down a wrong path, she talked with me. It wasn’t like a lecture; she really wanted to know what I thought and why I thought it before she started to weigh-in on the matter.

What made her opinion so hard to resist was her reliance on the Bible as a book that we live by. She challenged me to follow the Word of God above all else. To rely on it alone – not to add to it or to water it down, for it stood well on its own.

She is just one of the many people who have marked my life with her presence. She poured her life without reserve to benefit me with no thought of gain or repayment. I hope that by pouring my life into others, I am repaying her.

Who are your earthly heroes?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bear permalink
    November 1, 2011 4:27 pm

    My mom is my hero. The love she shows everyone, her spunky personality, and her motivation by her Lord Jesus Christ to live for him are all things someday I want to possess. Love you mom, thanks for being my hero!!

  2. Cheryl Manney permalink
    November 1, 2011 4:35 pm

    Much as I love my parents I think my husband fits your definition of a Hero. He is certainly who I look up to on how to live a life glorifying to God. I also have a small cluster of Godly girlfriends, of which you are one, that I look to on how to raise children who love the Lord above all else. Love you my friend!

  3. Marilea permalink
    November 2, 2011 12:36 am

    I love what you wrote about my Mom..I still miss her and Dad.

Leave a Reply

