Skip to content

Scripture Memory…… You Can Do It!

October 17, 2011

Three weeks ago when the guest speaker at our missions conference asked everyone to turn to II Corinthians 8, I looked down the row toward David, wondering if we were sharing a memory. Years ago, I had helped him to memorize that chapter. It was a lot of hard work for him, but he did it!

In junior high our class would commit passages of scripture (6-12 verses) to memory each month and we would receive some reward for being able to quote it. As an adult I continued to memorize favorite chapters and passages. When we started homeschooling, I included the children in it, by writing the verses out on poster board and reading it together each school morning.

If you are anticipating a challenge, you are right. Don’t be tempted to put yourself in the category of “I can’t memorize.” Really, there are people who memorize quickly and those that have to work at it, but we all remember our address and our birthday. Anyone CAN memorize.

Actually, using longer passages is easier  because you don’t have all the references to add and the context itself provides clues.

The first time I tried to memorize an entire book was about 15 years ago. The book was Colossians and I purposely started with chapter 3, because it was the most relevant part to me. Secretly, I was afraid I could not do all of it. It took me almost 4 months, but I finished it.

The next summer, I worked through the book of Titus. Since then,I have started Acts (only through 3 chapters) and Romans (through 5 chapters), memorized Philippians, and parts of James and 1 and 2 Peter.

Can I quote any of them perfectly today? No, not perfectly or even close; but I can give a rough outline and tell you that James has some important teaching on faith and the tongue, that the early chapters of Romans reminds us of our heart’s problem and where to find a solution, that Philippians 2 shows Christ-likeness, and so on.

These are a few of the benefits of His Word in your heart. It is powerful and can discern our thoughts and motives (Hebrews 4:12). It keeps us from sin (Psalm 119:11). It is eternal (1 Peter 1:25) and when you know it by heart, is available for you to meditate on at any time.

I write verses on 3 x 5 cards. They are easy to put in my pocket or purse and keep with me.

If you think about it, we probably engage in 15-45 minutes of mindless tasks each day. Work on it while you wait in line, are on the treadmill, washing dishes, or curling your hair. You can quote in the car or while you rake leaves, pull weeds, or fold laundry. There are endless possibilities. 

Redeem just 15 minutes of that time memorizing and quoting to yourself. You will be surprised at what you can learn with a little bit of time each day.

On day two, repeat what you worked on the day before and add another verse or phrase. Some days you might have to focus on polishing what you know, don’t yield to discouragement. It is hard, but it is worth it!

If you miss a week or two (or even more), start again. This isn’t a race, it is a way of life.

Something to think about: What if owning a Bible was against the law, could you survive and thrive on what you know now?  

Are you with me? Will you keep me accountable? Can I help you? I am working on Philippians again.

Leave a note in the comments section and let  me know what you are working on.

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.  Psalm 119:105

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    October 18, 2011 7:06 pm

    The last passage I memorized (a few weeks ago – I need to choose a new one) was Psalm 19, which contains some great incentives to keep going: “…the judgments of the
    Lord are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold; yea, than much fine gold. Sweeter also than honey, and the honeycomb, Moreover by them is thy servant warned, and in keeping of them there is great reward.”
    Where could we possibly find greater treasure? The memorization of them is worth the investment of time and effort – the dividends are eternal!

Leave a Reply

