Skip to content

Blood Donation: The River of Life

October 7, 2011

Before I was married, I was a regular blood donor. About every two months, I would show up at my local blood bank to give blood. My mom had to sign a waiver for my initial donation since I was not old enough to sign for myself. The first time I gave blood, I had this overwhelming feeling that I had just single-handedly saved a life. That feeling kept me going.

After getting married, I lived in small towns where blood donation wasn’t as accessible as before. That, coupled with the fact that I have spent over six years pregnant (JP was 3 weeks late) and eight years nursing babies – both of which needed all my strength and energy, I stopped giving blood.

On September 4, 2009, my beloved mother was diagnosed with AML leukemia. She had chemotherapy treatment and was in remission for a short period but passed away in July of 2010. During those 10 months, my mom received many blood products, sometimes, several units a day.

Knowing how important it was for my mom to have a supply of healthy blood, awakened my desire to donate once more. I have set a personal goal of donating four times a year, and on Monday, I met my goal for this year.

Giving blood is easy, not any more painful than having an IV, and very safe.  I realize that being a blood donor is not for everyone. If being a donor is not for you, maybe you could consider taking a first aid course  or becoming CPR certified, (maybe even teaching a CPR course), because the feeling that you have saved a life is worth every inconvenience.

Every time I study or teach human anatomy or biology, I am in awe of our Creator. All of our body systems working together in tandem with one another with this blood, this river of life, as its delivery system gives us physical life. A simple fact: without blood, we can not survive.

On an eternal plain, blood is our life line too. The Bible says that life is in the blood. I have eternal life because Jesus Christ, God’s Only Son, The Perfect Lamb, shed His own blood for me. He took my place and paid the penalty for my sin to satisfy The Holy God.  He is my blood donor. He saved me.

What is your status now? Have you received your “eternal blood donation?”

You are redeemed “with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish or spot:” 1 Peter 1:19

 

For more information on becoming a blood donor in Colorado go to Bonfils.org. For information on blood donation nationally, try the American Red Cross.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anil Mathai permalink
    October 8, 2011 12:00 pm

    Awesome story. Thanks and God Bless!!

  2. Rosie P:otter permalink
    October 8, 2011 7:54 pm

    I love your analogy, Candy.
    What a wonderful truth about the precious blood of Christ. It will be our theme in heaven:
    “Unto Him that loved us, and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and hath made us
    kings and priests unto God and His Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.
    Behold He cometh with clouds, and every eye shall see Him…!
    (Revelation 1:5b-7)

Leave a Reply

