Skip to content

Recipe: The BEST Granola (according to my kids)

September 23, 2011

Granola – sweet, crunchy, healthy granola….  how do I love granola, let me count the ways…. as cereal, with yogurt, with fruit, as a muffin topping, in trail mix, for homemade parfait, ……. My children have asked for my granola in college care packages, even though the dinning hall offers granola as a staple item.

I have been making granola for 20 years. I started out with a recipe from Make a Mix Cookery (Eliason, Harward, & Westover) and have tweaked it a bit to our liking. Recently, I wrote it down for a friend and now I want to share it with you.

Candy’s Granola

  • Large can (42 oz.) old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 2 cups roasted (no salt) sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 lb. of flaked coconut

    granola ingredients

  • 3 cups nuts
  •  1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup oil (I use canola)
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2-3 cups of dried fruit

Preheat your oven to 300*.

Mix the oatmeal, wheat germ, sunflower seeds, coconut, and nuts in a very large bowl.

Make the syrup by heating the water, oil, brown sugar, honey, molasses, and salt to nearly boiling and when the sugar is dissolved add the vanilla and stir to combine.

Pour the syrup over the oatmeal mixture and mix until evenly coated.  Place the granola on three 17 x 12 baking sheets. Toast in the oven for 40 -45 minutes, stirring every 15 mins.

I use my convection setting at 300* (but it will work without convection) and rotate the pans to different racks when toasting.

For a special family breakfast: Layer berries (fresh, or frozen and thawed) in a trifle bowl, then a layer of yogurt, another layer of berries, and more yogurt. Top with granola. Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 1:20 pm

    Your recipe is VERY close to mine, of course I seem to never make mine the same way twice anyway! We don’t usually let the kids eat it though, they go through it too fast and really don’t appreciate it! Mean, I know….

Leave a Reply

