Skip to content

Tangible Truth

September 21, 2011

Have you ever had one of those “ahh-ha” moments when a spiritual truth becomes so real to you that you know it is simply “yours” – forever? You can remember every detail about the moment; location, weather, what smells were in the air, the sound of birds or blenders or whatever was going on. Then, when you passionately relate this new-found truth to your most intimate friends, they say something like, “That’s great,”  not, “WOW!! THAT IS GREAT!!!!!,” but just, “That’s great,… nice,… sweet.”  Does that happen to anyone else?

Well, at the risk of having you say, “That’s nice,” here is one of mine:

Twenty-four years ago, right after our oldest child, a son, was born, I was driving the 15 miles home from JP’s two-week checkup. That September day was sunny and warm, you could smell the ripening prairie grasses on each gust of Wyoming wind, and in the back seat, bundled in his car seat, was my perfect, sleeping babe.

I have a habit of praying in the car. (I still do it when I am alone, which doesn’t happen too often.) I was praising God and boldly telling Him that I would go anywhere and do anything for Him. I even professed my willingness to die as martyr.

Then a thought, uninvited and disturbing, came careening into my consciousness – a weakness exposed. “No, God, no. Don’t let anyone take my son. Don’t let anyone hurt him and make me watch. I don’t think I could stand to see him suffer because of me.”

And just as quickly, another thought, comforting and stabilizing, entered my mind. It was like God was reminding me, “I did that for you.”

And I knew it. He did do that. His perfect Son, Jesus, was tortured and died for me. That was when I understood how much God loved me; at that very moment the truth of His love crossed the boundary of a story and became “real” to me. The kind where you put your hands on it and hold it kind of “real.”  It was tangible.

And, you know something, that is how much He loves you too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 8:29 am

    GOD LOVES YOU. You just don’t realize how much because you keep on forgetting that He is always with you.

  2. Bear permalink
    September 21, 2011 11:32 am

    WOW!! THAT’S GREAT!! (…thats for being busy last night and not expressing it then) 🙂

  3. Rosie P:otter permalink
    September 22, 2011 3:31 am

    I am in awe of His love.
    He showed it to me; when I was a sinner He died for me.
    MUCH MORE then, being justified by His blood, (I) shall be saved from wrath through Him.
    For if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His son,
    MUCH MORE we shall be saved by His life! (Romans 5:8-10)
    This is JOY!

Leave a Reply

