Skip to content

Fall Decorating Ideas – Easy and Cheap :)

September 19, 2011

wreathAutumn has officially arrived. At least at my home, if not on the calendar (yet). Welcome Fall! 

entryway

I cut some of the ornamental grass (Karl Foerster)  that grows in my front garden to put in a vase. This gets a rating of Easy, Cheap, and Fast.

washstand

The wall hanging my mom quilted has perfect fall colors to set off a bowl of squash and gourds.

mantel

This is my focal display. Don’t you love mantels? The I used fall napkins  on the diagonal to punch up the colors. Half-gallon canning jars hold branches of a maple tree. (They hadn’t started turning yet…. so imagine yellow.) Add a pie pumpkin with some mini white pumpkins and a few gourds and candles. Simple!

candle jars

This worked so well, I can’t wait to try different variations with other holidays. Fill pint mason jars half-way with rocks, add a votive candle (with a container) inside and tie with ribbon. Self-explanatory. The beautiful bonus is the wax melting clear. So pretty!

I didn’t have any fall napkins, so I made 10 x 10 napkins (cocktail size). If you wanted really useful ones, you should make them bigger, but these do the decorating job and for a 1/3 of a yard of fabric I could make four. This is how I made the napkins:

Cut squares of washed fabric 11×11 inches.  Iron. To make mitered corners, which is best, because it reduces the bulk and distributes it better around the corners, mark 1/2 inch from each edge at the corner. 

napkin mark

mark your napkin

Cut off the tip of the corner to reduce the bulk.

napkin

trim corner

Fold and press the corner at a diagonal right across your marking.

fold and press corner

Fold in a 1/2 ” on each side. I use the a strip of index car that I have cut to one-half inch as my reference. Then I don’t have to measure constantly.

fold edges and press

fold edges and press

Your corner should look like this – well actually it should be better, but I didn’t have the patience to make it perfect for the photo.

Next step it to fold the raw edges of the side inside to meet the 1/2″ crease line and press.  This will give you a 1/4″ edge to do your decorative machine stitching. Just stitch around the napkin, pivoting at the corners by stopping with the needle down in the fabric.

ready to sew

Since I had my sewing machine out, I decided to make a table runner with the print fabric and embellish it with a  bright orange rick-rack trim.

Now for a cup of hot spiced apple cider. Ahh…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    September 19, 2011 10:21 am

    Wow!! LOVE the pictures, love the ideas . . . I have a super recipe for apple cider that I tried out this weekend 🙂 I wish we could burn candles. Fire cheers you up.

    And can I believe my eyes . . . you must have used the “special stitch” options on your machine!!! WOW!

  2. Bear permalink
    September 19, 2011 1:20 pm

    It looks even better in person! Great job mom! 🙂

  3. September 23, 2011 9:17 am

    LOVE everything! Your home looks so warm and cozy and ready for FALL =)

  4. September 25, 2011 1:17 pm

    Guess I should start getting fall things out too, you’re so on top of it! Glad to call you my friend!

Leave a Reply

