Skip to content

The Day Was Going So Well….

September 9, 2011

The day was going so well, until someone woke up. As a morning person, that is how my days start out. Perfect – until I have to deal with someone else.  🙂

I know the reason that God gave us eight descendants was simply because I am so hard-headed it took that many children to teach me the lessons most moms can learn with just two or three babies.

Lest any of you would be tempted to think that someone who has been married for 25 years (well, almost), has eight kids, and has homeschooled for 20 years has it all together, I would like to set the record straight. I have disagreements with Paul, I am impatient and yell at my children, and I am overly critical. (I keep trying to put the words “sometimes”, and “occasionally” in these sentences. Still trying to protect my image.) I battle with my selfish flesh constantly.

So, on those days when we have done all we can do and when we feel we have failed past redemption, know for a certainty that this is exactly where God wants us – at the end of ourselves. Only when we realize that we are insufficient can we fully rely on Him alone.

It is not in our physical prowess, mental abilities, or supreme tact and good judgement that we serve God; rather, it is in His strength and through His Spirit.

Any success that appears in my life, whether related to marriage, children, or anything at all, has nothing to do with me and has everything to do with God. I pleaded with God to make me perfect (RIGHT NOW) so that those around me would not suffer for my inadequacies, but He didn’t do it. Instead, I have learned to pray that God would show Himself faithful in my life, by convicting me of things that are wrong, giving me grace to change, and making up for those deficiencies in my attempts at serving Him.

So, on those days that are the hyperbole of imperfection (and the ones that are almost perfect, too), let us humble ourselves, walk in the Spirit, and pray for His grace to overshadow us. After all, I just want to do what He wants me to do, don’t you?

C.H. Spurgeon said, “Beware of no man more than of yourself; we carry our worst enemies within us.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rosie P:otter permalink
    September 9, 2011 10:36 pm

    Amen, Candy! I think what God treasures most in us is humility. I just recently looked up Isaiah 66:2 – “To this man will I look, even to him that is poor, and of a contrite spirit and trembleth at my word.”
    “Look” in the Hebrew means to look intently, to regard with pleasure, favor, or care.
    Of course we are not born that way, but in our second birth, we have that wonderful potential.
    It is the desire of our hearts, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

