Skip to content

Borax, My New Favorite Cleanser

September 6, 2011

Borax, what do you do with it? It seems I always have a half-full box sitting in my laundry cupboard. I use it when I am running low on detergent and want to stretch it so I don’t have to run to the store immediately.

With all the company the last few weeks, I have discovered a new use for powdered borax. I works great for washing walls and appliances! I bit on a wet sponge cleaned my refrigerator better and easier than ever before and a half-cup dissolved in a gallon of warm water worked miracles on my kitchen walls.

For the walls, I wet them down with the solution and let it sit while I wet down the next area, about a minute. Then I scrubbed the first area and worked my way around the kitchen in the same manner.

Of course we all know to test a bit of any cleaning solution in an inconspicuous spot to make certain it doesn’t damage the finish.

Borax can be found in the laundry section of your supermarket.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

