Skip to content

Reading Aloud

August 30, 2011

Do you read aloud with your family? Some of our best family memories are of my husband, Paul, reading Where the Red Fern Grows (Rawls) and The Swiss Family Robinson (Wyss) to the kids. We often read in the car or get an audio book from the library.

Radio dramas and books read aloud are great ways to inspire creativity. Your mind must make up the visual to go with the story and that, in turn, strengthens the brain synapses that are important for thinking “outside the box.”

It is easy to give your children a love for good books even if they don’t love to read. The habit of reading aloud has spurred my children that had to work harder (than the rest) at reading, to keep up that hard work and to improve their reading skills.

Ideally, I like to read aloud each day to the kids, but we don’t do it everyday and the truth is we often miss a week and maybe even a month, but we always come back to it. It is a regular part of the opening session for our school day. Sometimes we read an entire chapter, but often less. There is no reason to hurry.

My favorite read-aloud of all time is Chitty -Chitty, Bang-Bang by Ian Flemming. Yes, Ian Flemming, the creator of James Bond. This book is nothing like the Disney movie. It is still a book about a magical car, but it is also about an intelligent family on an adventure, complete with mystery, danger, suspense, and surprise.

From time to time, I will give book reviews, but if you are at a loss of where to start, think of the books you loved as a child. If you are drawing a blank, here are a few to try:
Carry On, Mr. Bowditch (Latham)
Little House in the Big Woods and Farmer Boy (Wilder)
My Side of the Mountain (Speare)
Rifles for Watie (Keith)
Charlotte’s Web (White) ……. oh, there are too many titles rushing to my mind……well, this will give you a start.

Don’t keep a good book to yourself. What are some of your favorites?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 8:04 am

    One of my childhood favorites was/is The Mouse and the Motorcycle =) Another fav is Pride and Prejudice..this is a wonderful idea — You’ve inspired me to incorporate reading aloud into our family routine so whenever the Lord does give us children, the habit will already be in place!
    GREAT post!

  2. Cathe Meyers permalink
    August 31, 2011 8:12 am

    Hello Candydawn,

    I’ve been reading your blog and I’m impressed by it’s quality and clean presentation, I also like your writing style and love the articles and stories you portray here, you have an interesting world.

    That is why I would love to add your blog in the blog directory that I admin. It’s a high web traffic, Page Rank 5 blog directory named Blogdire, http://www.blogdire.com, it’s visit count grows exponentially every day and has high quality gained by listing great blogs like yours, because it does not have advertisement nor pop-ups.

    Having your blog listed in my directory, will definitely improve it’s page rank in search engines, (like Google), and you will have many visits to leave nice comments and feedback, and of course, more people to enjoy your blog and share your interests.

    In exchange of becoming part of the directory, all I ask is a simple link to my other site, I can assure you, the operation is extremely simple and there is no money involved.

    Let me know if you are interested and what you think.

    Kind regards,

    Cathy

  3. September 6, 2011 11:11 am

    Hey! I meant to comment on this post a few days back. My wife and I have loved reading books together. It helps the time pass by quickly. For awhile we mainly did it on long cross-country drives, but then we ended up getting into it and would read bits and pieces whenever we could. Some of my favorites that we read were: When Crickets Cry (http://amzn.to/qmmdMm) and The Dead Don’t Dance (http://amzn.to/oyRTug) both by Charles Martin. They were really really fun books!

  4. September 9, 2011 9:21 am

    Oh, so apparently you aren’t the only one inspired to write on reading aloud recently. Came across this one today on another blog. http://bit.ly/nFSuJK

    • September 9, 2011 9:40 am

      I saw it yesterday too. I resisted the urge to comment because I thought Josh might write something since I know he reads this blog. I downloaded samples of both your Charles Martin books. I have so many books/samples on my kindle that I should stop downloading and just read! I am not as fast as you are.

Leave a Reply

