Skip to content

I Love Lists

August 21, 2011

Now, I try not to overuse the word love, but in this case LOVE lists, and I mean it.  No one needs to know how to make a list or follow a list.  You don’t even need me to write the “Ten Best Reasons to Use a List”  list. (Is that good grammar?)

These nifty tools help me to get and stay organized. I have one for everything: groceries, daily chores, letters to write, bills to pay….. lists to keep track of lists. I even make lists for other people to follow. I don’t understand why anyone would not order their life in this way.

So while I am certain you understand my deepest feelings about this tool, I will tell you a secret….. a list can cripple you.

When we lived in rural Wyoming miles and miles from any grocery store or gas station, one day we found ourselves in town. This was an unplanned trip. (Thankfully, my husband has a spontaneous side that I do not. Without him, life would be over-panned and boring.) We went to the market and the dialog in the parking lot went something like this:

“Honey, would you like to get some groceries?”

“No, I don’t have my list.” (Probably followed by a silly, you’ve-got-to-be-kidding grin complete with head shake.)

“Honey, we are out of everything. How can you miss?”

We shopped. I probably bought 20 items. I could not think without my list. (Now we were only out of almost everything. 🙂

When we can’t see beyond our list, we become trapped by it. My message to you: Don’t let your list hamstring you. This is your tool; don’t become its slave. Today, I make lists simply so I don’t have to use precious brain space to remember things. When an idea takes shape on a piece of paper, the only thing I have to remember is where I put that list. (So, did you see that lame joke coming?)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 5:18 pm

    Hey Mrs. Trygstad!
    I really like your blog as well! And funny enough, I have been pondering all day about the lists I intend to sit down and write once I get the glass top of my desk so I can sit and write! I’m looking forward to what other posts you have coming!!

  2. Spaniel permalink
    August 22, 2011 10:04 pm

    Now I know why I love lists 🙂

Leave a Reply

