Skip to content

Home-Canned Tomato Soup

August 12, 2011

Tomato Soup

Last week Nicky and I made 11 quarts of tomato soup for her to take back to college. Tomorrow I am going to the farmer’s market to buy a 1/2 bushel of tomatoes to make some for the family here.  Here is the recipe that my mom passed on to me.

  • 1 crate tomatoes (between 22-25 lbs.)
  • 6 lg. onions
  • 1 bunch celery
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. canning salt
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • cayenne pepper to taste

Cut tomatoes in half and remove core. Cut onions and celery in 1/2 inch pieces. Cook onions, tomatoes and celery in a stock pot with a 1 – 2 quarts water, depending on the variety of tomatoes and their juicyness. (I usually use 2 stock pots and put half of the vegetables and about 3 cups of water in each.) Bring it to a simmer and let it cook together until it is soft, about 40 mins. Watch carefully and stir if often since it has a tendency to scorch.

Mix the sugar, salt, flour and cayenne. (I use about 2 tsp. of cayenne.)  Your tomato/vegetable mixture should have cooked down by now and will fit into one 16 qt. stockpot. Add the flour mixture to the tomato mixture and blend.  Put the mixture through a canning sieve . I use my Kitchen Aid food mill attachment.

Grace making soup

Grace is putting the soup through the food mill.

Kitchen Aid food mill attachement

This makes quick work of straining the soup

Reheat the soup to boiling and pour into clean, hot jars leaving 1/2 inch head space. Wipe rims and adjust caps. Process in a boiling water bath canner for 30 minutes. This is for sea level so remember to adjust for altitude. Makes 10-11 quarts.

To adjust for altitude when using water bath canner: If the processing time is 20 minutes or less, add 1 minute for each 1000 feet above sea level. If the processing time is more that 20 minutes add two minutes for each 1000 feet above sea level.

Now for the best part, to serve this delicious soup…….

Make a white sauce using:

    • 2 tbsp. butter or margarine
    • 2 tbsp. flour
    • 1 c. milk

In a large pot, melt the butter, stir in the flour until smooth and bubbly. Add the milk while stirring and continue to stir until mixture becomes thick and bubbly. Add 1 quart of  your canned tomato soup and heat to boiling.  Makes about 5 servings.

My favorite quote from Jacob. “Mom, I love tomato soup. Do you know why? It doesn’t have any vegetables.”

Enjoy, and if you have any questions about the recipe or canning in general, feel free to comment below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 6:59 pm

    Sounds good, I have a crock pot one I’ve made but only froze it not canned. I’d love to try it this year but we have very few tomatoes, got early blight. I think there are going to be not many available and they’ll be high, too much wet this summer! I’ll be very lucky to get even some tomatoes to can at all I think.

    • August 14, 2011 9:38 pm

      I went to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday to buy tomatoes, but they were very expensive. So, I didn’t buy any. The Saturday farmer’s market is usually expensive. I will try to find a different one this week.

      I have a ton of tomatoes, but I probably won’t have 25 lbs ripe at the same time. They are all green still – not even a hint of yellow, but everything is a bit late this year. and I would like to get a lot of the canning done before we start school.

  2. August 29, 2011 11:06 am

    LOVE this!!! I just might have to head to the Farmers market to stock up on Tomatoes…I can’t wait until Lord-willing next summer I will be able to have a small garden to grow my own =)

Leave a Reply

