Skip to content

With Pride or Without

August 10, 2011
tags:

Here is a life changing lesson that I am still working on applying. This lesson is meant to change my life, but I thought in sharing it someone else could benefit from my schooling.

I really want to be what God wants me to be. I mean it. One hundred percent of what He wants and nothing else. I was convicted that maybe, just maybe,I was carrying some extra baggage in my relationship with Christ. Maybe there were things I needed to shed, things that were getting in the way. MAYBE????  No, there were definitely things that had to go. I knew it.

Without a second thought, I knew that at the top of that list of attitudes to be banished was my pride and the selfishness that flowed from it. “Lord, if I rid myself of this pride and all that goes along with it, people will not even recognize me as Candy. Don’t you understand, Father. I would be so different that I would cease to exist!”

Immediately, this verse came to my mind. “I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

Okay, God, I get it. I really get it! It is not about me; it is about you. I will give up the very thing that so characterizes my life, the part that is ME, so I can be like YOU.

I haven’t arrived;  I am still proud. When I receive criticism and my pride is wounded, I don’t feel the pain of being a poor reflection of my Savior, just  a regret that someone had noticed that I am not what I should be.

When I wonder if I will ever be free from this puffed-up, self-serving part of me, I am ashamed that it temps me all the time and I yield to it often. And then I am thankful for a forgiving God that is faithful to complete the work He began in me. Because it is not about me, it is about Him.

Are you feeling the Potter’s fingers in your life?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

