Skip to content

Making Memories

August 8, 2011

Saturday was a great day. Nicky and I made a batch of homemade tomato soup to can. The soup inspired me to make stew for dinner instead of fried chicken; which led me to bake bread, since stew is best served with homemade bread, fresh from the oven. Which is the reason I was going to blog about baking bread.

Thinking on all the important things about making bread took me to a trail that I followed back about 16 years, to a little house in Craig, Colorado. We had five children at the time and David was almost six months old. It was the day before Thanksgiving – the Day of Preparation. 🙂 This was the day that I  would roast the sweet potatoes for casserole, simmer the cranberries into sauce, make Grandma Leila’s cranberry salad, and bake the sour cream coffee cake for Thanksgiving breakfast. There was a family to feed and church to attend Wednesday night too.  There was much to be done and we were all caught up in the doing of it.

Oh, did I mention that on this particular Thanksgiving I was letting Nicky make the pies while I was getting the rolls ready for the oven. This would be her first time making the pies for Thanksgiving Dinner.

I put the large bowl of bread dough into the oven to raise. Here it would be out-of-the-way while we used the counter tops for other projects. Nicky  made the fillings and rolled out the pie crusts; Nicky also turned on the oven. As I nursed David, I could smell the faint smell of something burning, something plastic.

I rushed to the kitchen, opened the oven door, and saw my one and only large mixing bowl oozing great drops of marigold colored plastic over the oven racks. Nicky was in tears and for a split second I wondered if any of the children knew or even cared how much we had to get done that day. Then I started laughing, I laughed until I cried too. I told the kids, I guess we were not making rolls, we were making a memory.  Gone was my Tupperware bowl, circa 1982, never to return, but we had a memory that none of us will ever forget.

Now it was time to bundle up the children and run to Kmart to purchase another bowl – this time stainless steel.

So, when life gives you lemons, make a memory.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    August 9, 2011 12:08 am

    I like that blog post, a lot 🙂 I love making memories with you.

  2. Maria permalink
    August 9, 2011 7:18 pm

    Very well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

