Skip to content

Canning Beans

August 5, 2011

   Last week I canned several quarts of green beans from my garden. Growing beans is so rewarding since they grow easily and produce bountifully with just basic care. To get your beans to produce well, you will want to pick them often; every two or three days is optimal during the peak of the growing season.

Canning or freezing beans is easy. You will need to have a steam pressure canner to can them, though. Wash snap, and briefly cook, then you are ready to pack into jars with a bit of salt, cover with boiling water, cap, and process. That is all there is to it.

The Ball Blue Book is the “bible” of food preservation. It gives the preparation and canning procedures for just about everything along with helpful hints, altitude adjustments, and recipes. If you can not find the directions for canning a fruit or vegetable in this book, contact your local county extension agent and they should be able to help you.

Now I am off to pull some weeds.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 12:46 pm

    That is one thing I don’t grow…beans! I was required to pick them as a kid and my mom says I was know to pull up whole plants while picking them, I don’t like beans and detested picking them apparently even more! The first year I had a garden eons ago my Dad trying to be funny slipped in some bean seeds, I pulled them as weeds, he was very disappointed his joke didn’t turn out! Happy canning and blogging!

Leave a Reply

