Skip to content

Arrogant and Critical

February 12, 2014

A while ago, I heard a report that arrogant people are often highly critical people. My immediate reaction was a prayer, “Lord, help me not to be so critical.”

To my shame, I wanted to remove the effects my pride rather than my pride.

In this day where self-image is protected to the highest degree and where positive thinking is the “key to success,” personal pride is an accepted outcome. In God’s economy it is wrong to be proud and right to be humble. But what does that mean?

We are told not to think of ourselves “more highly than we ought (to think).” We are told that every good and perfect gift comes from God and is not by our own measures. We also know that He paid the ultimate price to reconcile us to Himself and that gives a human worth and value. For those who are saved, God, Himself is conforming us to the image of His Son and that is a good thing.

I love this quote from C.S. Lewis: “Humility is not thinking less of self, it is thinking of self less.” Humility is the act involved when I know that life is not “all about me.” Humility recognizes that God is the One deserving of glory and then happily glorifys Him.

There is a time and place for criticism. Certainly, we ought to judge ourselves and whether, we are doing right with a right attitude. There is a time for verbally encouraging  our brothers and/or sisters in Christ to walk in the Spirit, but this speech is to be seasoned with grace. This criticism is the kind that edifys and it’s purpose is to build up rather than tear down.

As I meditate on what He has done and is doing in me, I want give up my arrogance attitude and not just my critical spirit. I want to be like Jesus, who, although He was God, came to serve.

Just a few thoughts of mine, your comments are always welcome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    February 12, 2014 6:29 am

    Thanks mom!! Right on …

  2. Deb VanCuren permalink
    February 12, 2014 8:07 am

    Candy, wonderful post!

    Love you! Deb

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

