Skip to content

Garden: A Late Start is Better than Never

August 1, 2013

My garden that almost wasn’t …  I have been meaning to post about it for two weeks….. but better late than never, right?

The garden started in late February, when I gently poked my tender little seeds in an egg carton, then moved the seedlings into the newspaper origami pots I made. (That was a Pinterest idea that really worked! Yeah! The first website did not have clear instructions, but I kept looking until I found one that did. When transplanting, I ripped the newspaper off, instead of planting in the paper pots.)

When April rolled around we finally had snow – nearly every weekend in April, we had snow. When April gave way to May I was busy. And the more May days that passed, the more I considered not even planting a garden this year. After all, a garden takes work and I was not keeping up with my regular workload already. Besides, it was already so late.

notice the newspaper pots

notice the newspaper pots

I thought I might transplant the seedlings I started and call it good….. but I couldn’t. So into the earth went the seedlings and then the seeds. The puppy promptly ate all the leaves off the cantaloupe and broke some tomatoes. Oh, well.

pole beans this year

pole beans this year

The pole beans are a bit disappointing – all “pole” and no bean yet, but still I hope. The cucumbers are blooming like crazy with itsy-bitsy little cukes on them. And I’ll be picking jalapeno peppers soon.

Almost ready

Almost ready

The store was out of the largest bamboo supports for my tomatoes – so they were looking a bit neglected. But while I was visiting my grandson last week, my husband and David rigged a support trellis for them! I usually get nervous when Paul tells me he worked in my garden. ;)

the trellis supports

the trellis supports

I had planned on planting a  perennial herb garden this year, but since its location is currently being used as a track where Muddy runs, I decided to wait another year and put my herbs in pots for now. Their abundance is being dried and stored.  It is so easy to dry herbs and flowers in Colorado’s low humidity. Just wash, bundle with rubber bands, and hang upside down.

lavender, sage, oregano, and thyme drying

lavender, sage, oregano, and thyme drying

So while other gardeners are enjoying their produce, I am patiently waiting. But I am glad I planted. I guess it shows a little bit of faith in the future; a promise of reaping after planting. So, how are your gardens growing?

My favorite puppy, Muddy

My favorite puppy, Muddy

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dale and Rosie Potter permalink
    August 1, 2013 10:02 pm

    I’m happy to find you again!We’re enjoying green beans, onions, lettuce, zucchini, cabbage and spinach so far.Oh, and earlier, strawberries. I made jam with xylitol instead of sugar, and its justas good. (Tho more expensive!)The raspberries are getting started now. What delicious fun!Rosie

    Date: Thu, 1 Aug 2013 21:59:51 +0000 To: rosedale57@msn.com

  2. August 6, 2013 2:01 pm

    I think it looks great! Mines late too, cool weather.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

